Journey of the Programmer Part 1 – The Right Tools

This is the second part of the blog series Journey of the Programmer. Check out the first part here.

You have probably already heard the following phrase several times.

If all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.

Meaning that if you only have one tool at your disposal, you’ll try to solve every problem, you come across, with that tool, and you may not even realize that it is not the right tool.

This is especially true for programmers; it can be very difficult and time-consuming learning a new tool (programming language, software etc.). So we often stick with what we already know, without being aware of the benefits we could get from a new tool in the long run:

Why should I learn how to use git when I can just copy-paste my project folder and add a timestamp to the name?

Exactly! You won’t know until you’ve tried it (or until you lose data because you weren’t doing it regularly enough).

This will be a sub-series to the Journey of the Programmer series (I know, a lot of introductions and no meat) where I will be talking about tools that I use every day and that have improved my workflow and my programming experience in general. The posts will be numbered 1a, 1b, 1c etc., and they may be scattered all over the Journey of the Programmer series.

I am aware that some of the tools I’ll cover can be an almost religious matter for some people. The tools I will be talking about are not the number one best tool that everyone should use, they are the ones that I am using and that have already brought me huge benefits. However I will also try to cover alternatives that may fit people with other needs.

Leave a Reply

